Dec 04, 2022  
Academic Catalog 2016-2017 
    
Academic Catalog 2016-2017 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar 2016-2017


 

Calendar Parameters

Fielding’s calendar is a trimester calendar of three required terms per academic year. The academic year runs from September through August.

The following parameters apply to all programs on the academic calendar:

  1. Terms will start on a weekday; e.g. Monday-Friday, but may not start on Fielding holidays.
  2. For the Fall term, the term will end no later than December 23.
  3. Schools and programs may authorize courses shorter or longer than the term, subject to the approval of appropriate school and academic/administrative unit review committees.
  4. Face-to-face academic credit-bearing events must be scheduled within the academic term dates.

Additional Parameters for Doctoral programs and Postdoctoral and Postbaccalaureate Certificates:

  1. Each term will include a minimum of 15 weeks of instruction, ending with the grade deadline.
  2. There will be a dedicated assessment week prior to the grade deadline.

Additional Parameters for Masters, all other Certificates:

  1. Each term will include a minimum of 11.5 weeks of instruction, starting on the same day as the doctoral program term.
  2. The grade deadline will coincide with the grade deadline for the doctoral programs.

Revisions of Calendars

All calendars and any subsequent revisions or exceptions must be approved by the Senate Leadership Committee.

Master Calendar

Please see the master university Calendar website for additional event and deadline dates and details.


Fall Semester

September 7, 2016-December 20, 2016

Jul 20-Aug 16 (Wed-Tues) Online registration for Fall 2016
Aug 18-Sept 6 (Thurs-Tues) Term break
Aug 26-Sept 11 (Fri-Mon) Onsite orientations (exact dates vary by program)
Aug 29 (Mon) Financial Aid loan disbursement begins
Aug 31 (Wed) Fall 2016 Tuition due
Sept 1 (Thurs) IRB Submission Deadline
Sept 5 (Mon) Labor Day - Administrative offices closed
Sept 7 (Wed) Fall semester classes begin
Sept 7-20 (Wed-Tues) Add/Drop period for ODL, Media Psy MA, and SLS Certificate programs
Sept 15 (Thurs) Unofficial withdrawal deadline
Sept 23 (Fri) Financial Aid disqualification appeal deadline
Oct 3 (Thurs) IRB Submission Deadline
Nov 1 (Mon) IRB Submission Deadline
Nov 7-12 (Mon-Sat) Clinical Psychology Fall residency session
Nov 24-25 (Thurs-Fri) Thanksgiving recess - Administrative offices closed
Nov 27 (Sun) ODL, Media MA and SLS Certificate courses end
Dec 1 (Tues) IRB Submission Deadline
Dec 14-20 (Wed-Tues) Assessment week for doctoral, post-bacc certificate, and MA.CEL programs
Dec 20 (Tues) Fall 2016 grades due
Dec 21-Jan 8 (Wed-Sun) Term break
Dec 23-Jan 2 (Fri-Mon) Administrative offices closed

Spring Semester

January 9, 2017-April 23, 2017

Oct 27 (Thurs) Dissertation to Committee Deadline for Winter Session 2017 Ceremony Participants
Nov 9-Dec 6 (Wed-Tues) Online registration for Spring 2017
Nov 30 (Wed) Degree Audit Deadline for Winter Session 2017 Ceremony Participants
Dec 21-Jan 8 (Wed-Sun) Term break
Dec 23-Jan 2 (Fri-Mon) Administrative offices closed
Jan 3 (Tues) Financial Aid loan disbursement begins
Jan 3 (Tues) Spring 2017 Tuition due
Jan 3 (Tues) IRB Submission Deadline
Jan 9 (Mon) Spring semester classes begin
Jan 9-22 (Mon-Sun) Add/Drop period for ODL, Media Psy MA, and SLS Certificate programs
Jan 7-22 (Sat-Wed) Onsite orientations (exact dates vary by program)
Jan 10-14 (Tues-Sat) HOD Winter residency session
Jan 17 (Fri) Unofficial withdrawal deadline
Jan 14 (Mon-Sat) School of Leadership Studies Winter Session Graduation Ceremonies
Jan 14-21 (Mon-Sat) School of Psychology Winter residency session
Jan 21 (Mon-Sat) School of Psychology Winter Session Graduation Ceremony
Jan 20 (Fri) Financial Aid disqualification appeal deadline
Feb 1 (Wed) IRB Submission Deadline
Feb 20 (Mon) President’s Day - Administrative offices closed
Mar 1 (Wed) IRB Submission Deadline
Apr 2 (Sun) ODL, Media MA and School of Leadership Studies Certificate courses end
Apr 3 (Mon) IRB Submission Deadline
Apr 17-23 (Mon-Sun) Assessment week for doctoral, post-bacc certificate, and MA.CEL programs
Apr 23 (Sun) Spring 2017 grades due
Apr 24-May 7 (Mon-Tues) Term break

Summer Semester

May 8, 2017-August 20, 2017

Mar 8- Apr 11 (Wed-Tues) Online registration for Summer 2017
Apr 24-May 7 (Mon-Tues) Term break
May 1 (Mon) Financial Aid loan disbursement begins
May 1 (Mon) Summer 2017 Tuition due
May 1 (Mon) IRB Submission Deadline
May 8 (Mon) Summer semester classes begin
May 8-21 (Mon-Sun) Add/Drop period for ODL, Media Psy MA, and School of Leadership Studies Certificate programs
May 11 (Thurs) Dissertation to Committee Deadline for Summer Session 2017 Ceremony Participants
May 13-17 (Sat-Wed) Onsite orientations (exact dates vary by program)
May 16 (Tues) Unofficial withdrawal deadline
May 19 (Fri) Financial Aid disqualification appeal deadline
May 29 (Mon) Memorial Day - Administrative offices closed
May 31 (Wed) Degree Audit Deadline for Summer Session 2017 Ceremony Participants
Jun 1 (Thur) IRB Submission Deadline
Jun 25-30 (Sun-Fri) Psychology Summer residency session
Jul 3 (Mon) IRB Submission Deadline
Jul 4 (Tue) Independence Day - Administrative offices closed
Jul 13-15 (Thurs-Sat) School of Leadership Studies residency session
Jul 30 (Sun) ODL, Media MA and School of Leadership Studies Certificate courses end
Aug 1 (Tue) IRB Submission Deadline
Aug 14-20 (Mon-Sun) Assessment week for doctoral, post-bacc certificate, and MA.CEL programs
Aug 20 (Sun) Summer 2017 grades due
Aug 21-Sept 5 (Mon-Tues) Term break